Team USA’s Leonard Korir Finishes 14th In 10k At Rio 2016

Written By: Deprecated User

NEW ROCHELLE, NY — Iona College men’s cross country / track and field alum Leonard Korir ’12 finished 14th overall in the men’s 10,000-meter final in the 2016 Olympic Games at Estádio Olímpico João Havelange. The Maroon & Gold’s first American Olympian was the second Team USA runner to cross the line.

Korir’s time of 27:35.65 was his fastest in 2016 and his second fastest 10k ever following his Iona school record 27:29.40 set on May 1, 2011 at Stanford University. Korir adds another chapter to a story book 2015-16, where he enlisted in the United States Army, gained American citizenship and then qualified and competed in the Olympic Games.

Korir was Iona’s first ever NCAA Champion, accomplishing the feat twice in 2011 in the indoor 5,000-meter and outdoor 10,000-meter events and was an eight-time NCAA All-American.

In Rio, Great Britain’s Mo Farah out kicked Kenya’s Paul Tanui in the final 100-meters of the event to defend his 2012 gold medal to win in 27:05.17. Ethiopia’s Tamirat Tola took the bronze medal. On the American side, former Oregon standout Galen Rupp was fifth overall, two and a half seconds behind the bronze performer. Korir’s Team USA and U.S. Army Elite Athlete Development Program teammate Shadrack Kipchirchir came in 19th place (27:58.32) among the 34 competitors in the field.

Iona’s third and final Olympian in the Rio Games competes tomorrow (Aug. 14) at 9:30 am as Denmark’s Anna Holm Baumeister takes part in the women’s marathon event. Check NBC, NBC Sports Network or  for coverage of the race.

2016 Olympic Games

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil – Estádio Olímpico João Havelange

Men’s 10,000-meter final

August 13, 2016

1 Mo Farah Great Britain 27:05.2  
2 Paul Tanui Kenya 27:05.6 SB
3 Tamirat Tola Ethiopia 27:06.3  
4 Yigrem Demelash Ethiopia 27:06.3  
5 Galen Rupp United States 27:08.9 SB
6 Joshua Kiprui Cheptegei Uganda 27:10.1 PB
7 Bedan Karoki Muchiri Kenya 27:22.9  
8 Zersenay Tadese Eritrea 27:23.9  
9 Nguse Tesfaldet Eritrea 27:30.8 SB
10 Abraham Cheroben Bahrain 27:31.9 PB
11 Geoffrey Kipsang Kamworor Kenya 27:31.9  
12 Zane Robertson New Zealand 27:33.7  
13 Polat Kemboi Arıkan Turkey 27:35.5 PB
14 Leonard Essau Korir United States 27:35.6 SB
15 Abadi Hadis Ethiopia 27:36.3  
16 David McNeill Australia 27:51.7  
17 Suguru Osako Japan 27:51.9  
18 Stephen Mokoka South Africa 27:54.6  
19 Shadrack Kipchirchir United States 27:58.3 SB
20 Bashir Abdi Belgium 28:01.5  
21 Luis Ostos Peru 28:02.0  
22 Moses Kurong Uganda 28:03.4  
23 Timothy Toroitich Uganda 28:04.8 SB
24 Goitom Kifle Eritrea 28:16.0  
25 Andy Vernon Great Britain 28:19.4  
26 El Hassan El-Abbassi Bahrain 28:20.2  
27 Olivier Irabaruta Burundi 28:32.8  
28 Ben St Lawrence Australia 28:46.3  
29 Yuta Shitara Japan 28:55.2  
30 Kota Murayama Japan 29:02.5  
31 Ross Millington Great Britain 29:15.0  
32 Mohammed Ahmed Canada 29:32.8  
Hassan Chani Bahrain DNF  
Ali Kaya Turkey DNF