Astorino - City Champions (81).jpg

County Executive Robert P. Astorino Congratulates Iona Prep 2016 Baseball City Champions

Written By: Deprecated User

NEW ROCHELLE, NY — Westchester County Executive Robert P. Astorino presented a proclamation yesterday to Iona Prep’s Baseball Team as the Catholic High School Athletic Association’s (CHSAA) “AA” 2016 City Champions. The team won the Bronx/Westchester Division in its regular season with a 14-4 record and an overall record of 20-6. They defeated Monsignor Farrell 5-4 at St. John’s University for the Championship win. This is the first CHSAA title for Iona Prep since 2012 and third overall. 22 of the 24 team members are from Westchester County. Also of note, the Gaels have won the CHSAA Sportsmanship Award six years running.

“Iona Prep continues in the great tradition of Catholic Schools in Westchester,” said Astorino. “Brother Thomas R. Leto and Iona Prep Head Coach Ryan Mahoney turn out fine young men by encouraging success on the ballfield, while demanding excellence in the classroom.”

“We got down early, couple of errors, mental or physical but we just had to battle there. It was business as usual and our kids know they have to get ready to battle every time, at bat and pitch,” Mahoney said. “It’s a testament to these kids and how hard they work, no quit all the way to the end.  This was a very special year for our baseball program.”

The County Executive was joined by Brother Leto, Ryan Mahoney, Assistant Coach Anthony Piccolino, and Assistant Coach Eric Helmrich. Team Members who were juniors at the time of championship include Andrew D’Autilio of Greenwich, Michael Gorman of Carmel, Vin Cavallo of Yonkers, Rob DeBenedictis of Eastchester, Dylan Sabia of Mahopac, Domenico Bruzzese of Pelham, Jon Diforio of White Plains, Jeremy Hernandez of Yonkers, Paul Spagnoli of Thornwood, Jerome Harkins of Somers, Anthony Piccolino of Bronxville, Joe Iengo of Yonkers, Rob Rota of Yonkers, and Brian Rapillo of Harrison. 

Team members who were seniors at the time of championship include Christian Rosell of Eastchester- awarded the Jack Curran postseason MVP award, Michael Dimson of Bedford, Billy Gerken of Bronxville, Samuel Roque of Eastchester, Chris Dutra of Rye Brook, Marty Durkin of New Rochelle, Alex Dimovski of Valhalla, Andrew Militie of New Rochelle, Joseph LaSorsa of Katonah- awarded the Ron Patnosh Player of the Year Award, Michael Romano of Yonkers, and John Mirrione of Bronxville. Some of the seniors have gone on to play baseball in college, including Chris Dutra at Duke University, Joe LaSorsa at St. John’s University, Marty Durkin at Richmond University, and Alex Dimovski at Pace University.