American Red Cross Blood Drive at Library

New Rochelle Police Department Honors Members at Memorial & Awards Ceremony

Written By: Deprecated User

NEW ROCHELLE, NY — In observance of Police Memorial Week, the New Rochelle Police Department held its annual Memorial and Awards Ceremony on Wednesday, May 15 at the Greentree Country Club. The event honored the memory of those officers who sacrificed their lives in the service to the City as well as department members for their outstanding contributions. 

Nearly 100 members of the department were recognized for their heroic accomplishments and extraordinary work in the community with Lifesaving, Commendation and Investigation awards and Unit Citations. Police Officer of the Year was presented to Police Officer Paul D’Erasmo and Systems Engineer Derek Ortiz was named Civilian Employee of the Year. A full list follows below.

Mayor Noam Bramson also presented an award to three elementary students for their Police Memorial Essays. First place winner, Lea Cohen from Webster Elementary School read her winning piece. City Manager Chuck Strome presented the Citizen of the Year award to Emilio Betim Jusufaj and Niko Tamburo.

“Medal Day is a day of celebration where the Department recognizes, thanks and awards active members who have done exceptional work over the past year,” noted Commissioner Joseph Schaller. “It is also a solemn day where the Department remembers and honors those officers of the Department who are no longer with us who, in the course of doing their exceptional work, made the ultimate sacrifice of giving their lives in the performance of their duty. We thank all, those here and those gone before us, for their service.”


Recipients of Awards


Police Memorial Essay Award

Lea Cohen, Webster Elementary School

1st Place


Juliette Thomas, Ward Elementary School

2nd Place


Pasquale Rossignuolo, Davis Elementary School

3rd Place


New Rochelle Chamber of Commerce Investigator Award

Detective Dwayne Jones


Empress Ambulance Lifesaving Award

Police Officer Patrick Lunn


One-Year Attendance Award

Police Commissioner Joseph F. SchallerPolice Officer Christopher Carelli

Detective Lieutenant Brian FaganPolice Officer Timothy Childs

Detective Sergeant Kevin PerriPolice Officer Steven Conn

Detective Sergeant Robert TorrPolice Officer John Lynch

Sergeant Steven D’OnofrioPolice Officer Oisin McGloin

Sergeant Keith MurphyPolice Officer Anthony Scarnati

Detective Vincent MarionCommunity Service Officer Sergio Lopez

Detective Dario NavarreteCommunity Service Officer James Sheehy

Police Officer Melissa Bird


Two-Year Attendance Award

Captain J. Collins CoyneDetective Dwayne Jones

Lieutenant Gorge RosenbergenDetective Sean Kane

Sergeant Timothy KellyDetective Michael Vaccaro

Detective Steven GeertgensPolice Officer Samuel Goldman


Three-Year Attendance Award

Detective Christopher GuglielmoPolice Officer Michael Dassler

Detective Vincent Pisano


Four-Year Attendance Award

Detective Yadilene MachadoPolice Officer Nicholas Zuzulo

Police Officer Scott Wallach


Six-Year Attendance Award

Detective Gregory Herring Police Officer Anthony D’Angelo

Police Officer Anthony Colotti 


Seven-Year Attendance Award

Detective Lieutenant Christopher HearleDetective Luigi Amico

Detective Sergeant Myron Joseph


Nine-Year Attendance Award

Police Officer Gary Lehning


Eleven-Year Attendance Award

Lieutenant Daniel Conca Detective Claudio Carpano


Thirteen-Year Attendance Award

Lieutenant Edward HayesDetective Michael Ciafardini


Lifesaving Award

Lieutenant Neil K. ReynoldsPolice Officer Samuel Goldman

Sergeant Lawrence BornholzPolice Officer Emmanuel Gonzalez (2)

Sergeant Ryan DownsPolice Officer Carlos Jimenez

Sergeant Mark TrezzaPolice Officer Patrick Lunn

Detective Timothy AdrianPolice Officer Jeffrey Marello

Detective Luigi Amico (2)Police Officer Michael Martins

Police Officer John CarePolice Officer Gary Moss

Police Officer Christopher CarelliPolice Officer Louis Trangucci

Police Officer Stephen Correale (2)Police Officer Marc Weinerman

Police Officer Victoria Ferraro


Commendation Award 

Lieutenant Adam CastigliaPolice Officer Christopher DelGrosso (2)

Lieutenant Daniel Conca (2)Police Officer Matthew Glass

Sergeant Edward AustinPolice Officer Samuel Goldman

Sergeant Christopher CastigliaPolice Officer Emmanuel Gonzalez (2)

Sergeant Matthew BradyPolice Officer John Lynch

Sergeant Kimberly Diniz (3)Police Officer Robert Mansfield

Detective Kevin GeertgensPolice Officer Alec McKenna

Detective John LadeairousPolice Officer Melvin Molina

Detective Michael McKennissPolice Officer Jose Pena (2)

Police Officer Matthew AlbericoPolice Officer Jason Redner (2)

Police Officer Timothy Childs (2)Police Officer Marc Weinerman 

Police Officer John ConklinPolice Officer William Zapata

Police Officer Stephen CorrealePolice Officer Nicholas Zuzulo

Police Officer Jose Diaz (2)


Class C Citation

Detective Lieutenant Brian Fagan (3)Detective Vincent Pisano

Detective Sergeant Kevin PerriDetective Glen Spinner

Sergeant Francis FlaniganDetective Michael Vaccaro (4)

Detective Christopher Guglielmo (4)Police Officer Marisa Bird

Detective Dwayne Jones (5)Police Officer Hung-Haw Chern

Detective Sean Kane (2)Police Officer Samuel Goldman

Detective Vincent MarionPolice Officer Robert Johnson

Detective Michael McKennissPolice Officer Nicholas Zuzulo (2)

Detective Rocco Oppedisano


Unit Citation

Detective Lieutenant Brian Fagan (2)Detective Dario Navarrete

Detective Sergeant Kevin Perri (2)Detective Isabel O’Rourke (2)

Detective Kevin Geertgens (2)Detective Michael O’Rourke

Detective Christopher Guglielmo (2)Detective Joseph Savoca (2) 

Detective Dwayne Jones (2) Detective Glen Spinner

Detective Sean Kane (2) Detective Michael Vaccaro (2)

Detective Vincent Marion (2)Police Officer Marisa Bird

Detective Michael McKenniss (2)Police Officer Melissa Diniz


Citizen of the Year

Betim Jusufaj

Niko Tamburo

Civilian Employee of the Year

Systems Engineer Derek Ortiz


Police Officer of the Year

Police Officer Paul D’Erasmo


Police Commissioner’s Award

Captain J. Collins Coyne

Sergeant Ryan Downs

Sergeant Kyle Wilson

Detective Steven Geertgens

Police Officer John Lynch

Police Officer Nicholas Zuzulo