Pamela Hallman-Johnson and Carolyn Carter.

24 Educators Celebrate Tenure During Ceremony

Written By: City School District of New Rochelle

NEW ROCHELLE, NY — Twenty-four faculty members and administrators were celebrated for achieving tenure at the New Rochelle Board of Education meeting on Tuesday.

During the ceremony in the Linda E. Kelly Theatre, each tenure recipient stood, one after the other, to be praised by his or her school principal. 

Faculty members generally achieve tenure after two or three years, depending on whether they had been granted tenure at another district before joining New Rochelle’s faculty.

“These tenured faculty and administrators are well deserving of their accomplishment,” said schools Superintendent Dr. Brian Osborne. “They have proven that they are tremendous assets to our school district, our community, and most importantly, to our students.”

The faculty members had achieved tenure earlier and were being recognized in the annual ceremony:


Albert Leonard Middle School

Larene Del Guercio, Art Teacher


Barnard Early Childhood Center

Kathryn Scherhaufer, Educational Technology Teacher


Columbus Elementary School

Blanca Martinez, Elementary School Teacher; and Hugh Stuart, Music Teacher


Daniel Webster Elementary School

Kelly Mustich, Elementary School Teacher; Sara Sperling, Art Teacher; Rachel Long, School Social Worker; and Gregory Middleton, Assistant Principal


Isaac E. Young Middle School

Lana Ferraro, Special Education Teacher; Joanna Fusco, Music Teacher; Christopher Lowry, Carpentry Teacher; Melissa Szymanowski, Special Education Teacher; and Susan Nunez, Teaching Assistant


Jefferson Elementary School

Michelle Memoli, School Psychologist; and Theresa Rizzuto, Elementary School Teacher


New Rochelle High School

Sandra Arcese, School Psychologist; Max Bernstein, Biology Teacher; Carolyn Carter, Teaching Assistant; Pamela Hallman-Johnson, Special Education Teacher; and Lindsay McMorrow, Special Education Teacher


Trinity Elementary School

Deirdre Dillon, Elementary School Teacher


William B. Ward Elementary School

Margaret Blaney, Elementary School Teacher; Nikaulis Harrinarine, Spanish Teacher; and Nicole Itri, Elementary School Teacher