Jordan Forrest

NRHS Faces Top-Seeded John Jay for Class AA Title

Written By: Talk of the Sound News

NEW ROCHELLE, NY — No. 2-seed New Rochelle will square off against top-seeded John Jay-East Fishkill for the Class AA championship at 2 p.m. on Saturday at Mahopac High School. This is the Huguenot’s 13th Section 1 championship appearance since 2000. They are now playing for their fourth consecutive Class AA title.  They are undefeated in Section 1 championship games.

New Rochelle (8-1) won the Class AA semifinal last week against No. 6-seeded Carmel, 54-34. John Jay-East Fishkill (9-0) beat No. 4 Arlington, 28-0.

The team is led by Jordan Forrest, who was named by The Journal News as its “Player of the Week” for his performance against Carmel. 

Forrest had 29 carries for 253 yards and three touchdowns, two of which were on runs of more than 60 yards.  Also contributing in the win was quarterback Mac Coughlin, who was 6 for 10 passing for 180 yards and three touchdowns (to Omari Walker for 51 yards; Halim Dixon-King for 33 yards; and Jessie Parson for 54 yards).  Walker had 140 yards of offense and two touchdowns on eight plays from the line of scrimmage.  He also had an interception. Dixon-King had the touchdown on offense and had a fourth-quarter interception for 74 yards.

Admission is $8 for adults and students 12 and over and $5 for children under 12, senior citizens and veterans.

CROSS COUNTRY: New Rochelle’s boys and girls cross country teams are competing in the Section 1 championship at 10:30 a.m. Saturday at Bowdoin Park in Wappingers Falls. 

GIRLS SWIM: The following members of the girls’ swim team competed in the Section 1 trials on Tuesday: Jaelynn Taylor: 50 freestyle and 100 freestyle; Daniella Condon: 200 freestyle and 100 backstroke; Carolyn Blenk: 200 individual medley and 100 backstroke; Izzy Balachandran: 100 backstroke; Ella Harshman: 50 freestyle and 100 freestyle.

While these girls did not qualify for Thursday’s individual finals, the members of the 200 medley relay set a new school record with a time of 1:56.7, breaking the old record of 1:57.12 set in 2010.  The relay team is comprised of the following individuals (in order of their event): Balachandran (backstroke), Blenk (breaststroke), Taylor (butterfly) and Harshman (freestyle).

The NRHS swim team won the league championship going undefeated (11-0) this season.

BOYS SOCCER: The boys soccer team earned a share of the league championship and advanced to the Sectional semifinals, where they were defeated by Ossining 2-0. Congratulations to Coach Jarohan Garcia for earning the league’s Coach of the Year award. This is the third time Garcia has been recognized by his fellow coaches for the award.