New Rochelle Establishes African-American Advisory Committee

Written By: Robert Cox

NEW ROCHELLE, NY — The City of New Rochelle has established an African-American Advisory Committee.

The AAAC will recommend actions, practices, and policies to address the concerns, needs, and interests of the Black community of New Rochelle; facilitate constructive two-way dialogue between New Rochelle’s Black community and decision-makers in local government; enhance equitable access of Black residents to municipal services and information; promote and initiate Black entrepreneurship, economic opportunity, and business development in New Rochelle; promote dialogue and mutual understanding among all of New Rochelle’s diverse constituencies.

African American Advisory Committee members appointed by City Manager Charles B. Strome, III are Nathaniel Adams, Dale Burnett, Dierdra Clark, Minister Angela Davis-Farrish, Kwamain Dixon, Leslie Gaskin, Saye K. Konah, Minister Mark McLean and Linda Tarrant-Reid.

“Having the opportunity to facilitate open and meaningful dialogue about opportunities that can improve the quality of life for African American residents with City Officials is simply priceless,” said Committee Chair Angela Davis-Farrish. “We all look forward to working together.”

The majority of members have associations with key community groups including the NAACP-New Rochelle Branch, the New Rochelle Municipal Housing Authority, the Remington Boys & Girls Club, NewROAR, and the Black Clergy of New Rochelle.