League of Women Voters of New Rochelle Schedules Candidates Forum and Cable Programming for May 19 Vote

Written By: Talk of the Sound News

NEW ROCHELLE, NY — The League of Women Voters of New Rochelle is sponsoring a Forum for candidates running for the New Rochelle Board of Education and for New Rochelle Library Trustees on Monday, May 11 at the Ossie Davis Auditorium of the New Rochelle Public Library.  The school board candidates will appear at 5:30 to 6:45 p.m. and the library candidates from 7 to 7:45 p.m.

The candidates will make presentations and answer questions from the audience. Questions should be submitted in writing before program begins or via email to royjoanalex@yahoo.com or call 914-715-3916. A League moderator from outside the school district will conduct the Forums.

A video of the Forum will be shown repeatedly on local cable television during the days before election, a schedule to be announced after the Forum.   

Candidates for the two five-year terms on the Board of Education include Lianne Merchant (incumbent), Madalli Paci Atallah, and Vincent J. Malfetano.  Candidates for the Library Board for one five-year term and completion of a three-year term and and a one-year term are George K. Walters (incumbent), Charles F. Burke, Jr. (incumbent), Damon Maher (incumbent), nd Jay G. Wegimont.

The election will take place on Tuesday, May 19 for the board positions and for approval of a school district budget and a library budget. Detailed information on the budgets will be mailed to voters before the election.

In a recorded interview with Superintendent of Schools Dr. Brian Osborne and Assistant Superintendent for Administration/Finance Jeffrey White, conducted by LWV host Ina Aronow, Dr. Osborne and Mr. White discussed the budget process, curriculum, facilities improvement, and the Common Core standards and their implementation.  The half-hour discussion is shown daily on the local education channels, Cablevision Channel 77 and Verizon Channel 30 at 6:07 a.m., 12:45 p.m., 7:15 p.m. and 11:30 p.m.